Skip to content

Polly’s journal begins its journey

February 22, 2010

Picasso said painting is just another way of keeping a diary

I agree.

In spirit of writing is the new praying and painting is just another way of keeping a diary, I have been art journaling away for the past week. Now that my journal has left the building and is sailing towards New Zealand (oh I wish that was me!) it’s my turn to muse over the process…

The beginnings are always hard, especially when it comes to very new projects. It took me a long time to come up with a good first page… in the end I went for spontaneous creation: I picked up my crayons and pieces of pretty paper and started to draw, glue, stick together, hoping that I would have an epiphany of sorts as a result. I did, for better or for worse.

After the first page was finished new thoughts and images started to circle my head, float in and out, appear before my eyes in the most unexpected moments. All because I was spending more and more time thinking about the journal and process, it was starting to get addictive.

In those first chapters of art journaling I went for themes that are important parts of my life. I was setting the scene for myself and for hopefully for others to add to it.

This is what I wanted to say for now. I’m now looking forward to the next step. While creating those first four chapters I have definitely discovered that I can express myself in ways other than just using only words. I want to take this thought further.

Polly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 8:49 PM

    this is a very good start, polly, i can’t wait to see it when it reaches me. i hope that B or stacey knows how to make your pictures bigger. 🙂

  2. March 8, 2010 4:44 AM

    I have it Polly! And have done my first page, will post about it now! Am looking forward to sharing the important parts of my life too, oh such a good idea…

Leave a Reply

