Skip to content

Blanca, the journal’s in the post

January 29, 2010

I have sent my Soujournal, and so the adventure begins.

I’m a little embarrassed about the state of mine, I really am not much of artist. At the same time, I look forward to looking at everyone else’s and learning and getting ideas and improving and looking back and seeing how far I have came, even by the time my journal makes its first rotation back to me.

(I bet everyone is like uh oh. Don’t worry. I will do as little damage as possible to yours 🙂 maybe even just stick to writing.)

Here is a page I did last year, I’m not sure about the rest of you but I have discovered that my journal writing process is fairly standard.

I’ll have a couple of thoughts (usually either in bed, swimming lengths or scooting somewhere around town), link them with a couple of observations I’ve made, and construct an idea of a page I am going to create, then get it down on paper, either a napkin or my planner, and then transfer it to my journal when I get a chance. I can see a definite difference between the pages which occur organically and those that I force myself to do to fill a couple more pages.

So there is a lesson right there. I need to start thinking and observing more. Haha. Seriously though, like you found last year Julie when you took your camera everywhere you started to notice more, now I am going to start cataloging thoughts more. I guess this is what you already do since you have a gazillion blog posts on all sorts of ideas.

Baby steps.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2010 1:02 AM

    baby steps indeed. it’s all a process. and these journals are just the beginning…my little daily art journal calendar is helping immensely. and i’ll admit that my own private journal (which i write in only sporadically) is mostly writing as well and although unlined, it’s in really straight, neat lines. so that’s the boundary i’m pushing here…getting away from just that. see, we’re in the same boat.

    so glad we’re doing this!

  2. February 1, 2010 8:20 AM

    Sooo looking forward to getting it, and reading your thoughts! This has really started now!

Trackbacks

  1. The journal is in the post! « Soujournal

Leave a Reply

